Link

The 7 stages of grief

I have gone through these stages since being diagnosed with Crohn’s. Sometimes not in the same order, as I still fluctuate with denial when I have relapses, but in terms of the stages, they are pretty accurate of where I have been and where I need to remember going. It’s interesting that I linked being diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease as ‘grief’, especially since the definition of grief is:

“keen mental suffering or distress over affliction or loss; sharp sorrow; painful (thanks dictionary.com)
I don’t know what is so ‘keen’ about it… but I guess I did feel distress over the diagnosis, that it was a loss of a part of myself (my health).
Anyway, here are the stages of grief that might interest you if you feel like you are grieving over your health. At least there is hope that there are only 7 stages of it, and 3 of those stages are already when you see the light at the end of the tunnel! Deal and heal, baby!
Leave a Reply

