Chucking a sickie

Standard

I have surgery booked tomorrow, and I am surprisingly calm about it… mind you, I have been waking up at 5.30am for the past 2 days and having wildly crazy dreams, but surely that’s just a coincidence? Or maybe it’s the fact that I will have tomorrow off from work and potentially Monday and Tuesday off as well… I haven’t told work that I am going in for surgery though, I am just going to fake a flu. Less questions, less dramas to deal with. I’ve just been given a leadership position at school this term upon my return after 3 months away, so I don’t want to start ringing any alarm bells about my situation again. And fortunately for me, a lady who shares my office has been really sick with the flu (but still has been coming into school!) and all week I’ve been dropping comments like “Oh no, I think you’re getting me sick too!” or “You should stay home, I’m on immunosuppressants and if I get sick, it’ll be twice as bad!”…

I know this all sounds incredibly dishonest, and usually I advocate for the “you are the first priority – look after your health!” side regardless of what’s happening in your life, but I just want to get in and out of surgery and pray that I recover super quick so I can get back to normal.
In reality, I will be staying the night at the hospital to deal with the pain, all weekend I will be sleeping and dealing with the pain, and when Monday comes around, I probably still will not be able to walk. Then I’ll have to come up with some excuse around work about why I am hobbling around… it’s actually going to be really fucked now that I properly look at it… I probably should’ve told them I was going in for surgery.

It’s shocking at what lengths people hide their illness, and then on the other end of the spectrum, there are people who are constantly whinging about how sick they are and how horrid their life is dealing with it. I don’t know which one is the right way, because they both sound like TERRIBLE ways of dealing with your health. But all I know is which side of the spectrum I am on. Hahah, I mean, I am “chucking a sickie” from work when I am actually sick! But my “sickie” is too hide what I am really sick from! Bloody bonkers!

So I guess, wish me luck! And wish me a speedy recovery because I need some help hiding all this! xx

Leave a Reply

